

Third District Lawyers Recognized by Idaho State Bar

August 15, 2016

BOISE – Several attorneys were honored by their colleagues at the Annual Meeting of the Idaho State Bar recently held in Boise. They were recognized for their contributions to the communities and the legal profession. For more information, contact the attorney directly, or Idaho State Bar Communications Director Dan Black at dblack@isb.idaho.gov or (208) 955-8866.

<u>Debra Eismann, Nampa,</u> has earned the Denise O'Donnell Day Pro Bono Award, given to Idaho attorneys who exhibit exceptional efforts in pro bono work. Ms. Eismann donated over 25 hours to help an unwed teenage mom and her grandmother establish custody of her daughter. She said, "There really wasn't anything too remarkable or out of the ordinary about the case. I work hard for each of my clients and I treated my pro bono client no differently. I did my best and believe that the client got a good result and was happy with the outcome."

With regard to pro bono work, Ms. Eismann said, "I believe every attorney should give back to the community and I would encourage every attorney to do so."

John Anderson Jr., Caldwell, was also awarded the Pro Bono Award. In addition to volunteering at several community legal clinics, he provided more than 75 hours of pro bono legal assistance to three different clients in their civil legal matters.

Mr. Anderson said, "First and foremost, the law is a calling to serve by helping others. Each person helped is an inspiration to help the next person. In my mid-forties, it occurred to me that working 50-60 hours a week handling claims was not a service to others, and did not allow much time after work to help others. Law seemed a good fit for me, and the U of I College of Law strongly encourages pro-bono work that solidified my desire to help others."

He tells other attorneys, "Pro-bono work is not a burden. On the contrary, the time spent helping others tends to make one feel better, and lighten the load of an attorney's responsibilities."

###

Board of Commissioners

Dennis S. Voorhees President PO Box Z Twin Falls, ID 83303 Michelle R. Points Commissioner 910 W. Main Street, Ste. 222 Boise, ID 83702 Kent A. Higgins Commissioner PO Box 991 Pocatello, ID 83204 David C. Cooper Commissioner 702 W. Idaho, 5th Floor Boise, ID 83702

Michael T. Howard Commissioner 250 Northwest Blvd., Ste. 206 Coeur d'Alene, ID 83814

Diane K. Minnich Executive Director